With your generous support, we can improve lives and communities. Support us with your generous donation and touch someone's life and community.

With your generous support, we can improve lives and communities. Support us with your generous donation and touch someone's life and community.

Kogi LG Election: Zones B and C Leaders Agree On Political Zoning Arrangement In Kogi LG.

Spread the love

Yahaya Idris, Lokoja

The stakeholders of Zone C in Kogi Local Government, have cautioned the leadership of Zone A working against rotational political arrangement in the Area describing the development as deceitful and selfish which may likely disorganized the long established peaceful political transition method.

The APC stakeholders from C, rising from their meeting held Wednesday, stated that there is no reason to reverse the rotational order among the zones as such will lead to political somersault and create confusion in the local government.

They advised the stakeholders of Zone A not to end the rotational zoning arrangement in the area, and appealed to them to cooperate with the other Zones to maintain and sustain the peaceful political stability enjoyed by the people.

They maintained that it will not auger well for the area if some people decide to support for an end to the rotation arrangement, advising that “we should rather work vigorously in ensuring geopolitical zonal arrangement towards maintaining and sustaining unity, equity, fair-play and development of the local government.”

READ:  Kogi Workable Deputy Gov. Attends West African Social Cultural Activities, WASA In Abuja

A leader from Zone B Hon. Abdulrahman Wuya Okpasco, recalled that the agreement started long ago by our founding fathers and cannot be truncated by some few elements, saying that the zoning arrangement was for elective positions and not for political appointments.

He explained further that “those that had served through elective positions were on a rotational basis”.

The council Administrator, Barr. Muhammed Tanko Musa Osuku said the agitation for an end to the zoning arrangement now will not bring peace to the local government.

According to him, adhering strictly to the zoning system and the agreement at the earlier stage will not only bring peace and development, but justice, equity and fair-play in the council. He explained that every Zone stands a better chance to produce the chairmanship and assembly positions if only they will all agree that zoning has come to stay.

READ:  Nigeria’s oldest World war veteran, Pa Adamu Aduku Is Dead

Kogi LG APC Woman Leader, Hon
Maryam O. Suleiman stated that “canvassing for the abolition of rotational system at this point is not in the interest of the three Zones. It will not bring about unity. Anybody that is saying that the zoning arrangement for the Chairmanship of Kogi LG should be abolished now is trying to cause political crisis which is not good for the area.”

An Elder Advisory Council member, Alhaji Yahaya Musa Danladi, called on the Zone A leadership to respect the gentleman agreement so as not to cause havoc in Kogi LG.

Comr Usman Sani from Akpasu Ward, warned against causing disunity among Kogi LG populace but rather, everyone must work together to bring the council back to a stable and peaceful LG where all, irrespective of tribes, religion and party affiliation.

Hon. Shuaibu Adamu Aduho, Supervisory councilor from Zone C, said Zone A should know that other Zones are not slaves, urging those calling for abolition of rotational chairmanship to change their attitude before the council see them as enemy of the people.

READ:  Dethroned Emir Sasuni Lamido Campaign Vehicle Spotted

It is now obvious that any zone that has an appointed Care-Taker, Administrator or any names as the case maybe is equally qualified for the position of elective position.

The zone to produce the next Executive Chairman, is presently serving as the Administrator.

In a similar development, the two zones that is, Zone B, and Zone C have agreed to support and maintain the existing zoning arrangement.

Kogi LG comprise of 3 Zones which include: Zone A has Odaki ward, Girinya and Ukwo ward.

Zone B comprises of Koton-Karfe south east, Akpasu, Irenedu and Tawari wards

Zone C has Gegu North, Gegu South, Chikara North and Chikara South.

The event brought together who is who in Zone C among whom are: Kogi APC Forum Chairman, SA Political to Barr. Tanko, 4 Wards APC Chairmen, Elder Advisory Council, Youths and Women folks many but few to mentioned.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *