FCT Area Councils, Stakeholders Share N2,903,139,412.86Bn Allocation   

Minister of State, FCT, Dr. Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu
Share This:


A press statement issued by Austine Elemue, S.A Media To FCT Minister of State, August 9, 2022, has indicated that the Federal Capital Territory Administration has disbursed a total sum of N2,903,139,412.86billion to the six Area Councils in the FCT and other stakeholders as its share of statutory allocation for the month of June 2022.


Minister of State, FCT, Dr. Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu, who presided over the 166th Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC), tasked councils leadership to scale-up revenue generation with a view to meeting up critical needs of rural communities in the territory.


Aliyu, however, expressed displeasure over the attitude of some council authorities who have embarked on recruitment of staff without corresponding value for revenue generation.

READ:  New Direction Practice: Federal High Court Judge, Hon. Justice John Terhemba Tsoho Introduce New Way Of Law Practice In Abuja


The minister therefore appealed to chairmen to ensure that financial burden was not placed on the councils, just as she reiterated that the era of politics are over.


The minister said: “While it is the responsibility of government at all levels to provide jobs, I am also of the opinion that such exercise should be done in corresponding value of revenue generation within your councils.


“It makes no sense to me if we carry out recruitment that will become financial burden to all of us”.


However, a breakdown of the figures released during the JAAC meeting indicate that the sum of N622,223,249.20million made available for distribution to the six area councils, while the sum of N2,280,916,163.66billion was made available to other stakeholders, bringing the total sum to N2,903,139,412.86billion.

READ:  Ex-APC-national officer, Nduka Anyanwu rallies support for Tinubu, APC ahead of formal inuaguration


Similarly, distributions to area councils show that the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), received N140,340,099.54million, while Gwagwalada got N90,790,068.65million and Kuje received N128,422,208.31million.


Other area councils include, Bwari Area Council which received N89,245,658.86million, Abaji got N92,585,160.45million while Kwali received N80,840,053.39million, bringing the total sum to N622,223,249.20million disbursed to the six area councils.

Minister of State, FCT, Dr. Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu
Minister of State, FCT, Dr. Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu


Furthermore, distribution to other critical stakeholders include: Primary School Teachers which gulped N1,917,556,374.33billion, 15 percent Pension Funds took N226,478,989.57million, One percent Training Fund gulped N29,031,394.13million, while 10 percent Employer Pension Contribution gulped N107,849,405.63million, bringing the total sum to N2,280,916,163.66billion.


Those present at the 166th Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC), meeting include the FCTA Permanent Secretary, Mr. Olusade Adesola, Mandate Secretary Area Council Services, Hon. Ibrahim Abubakar Dantsoho, Director of Administration and Finance, FCT Area Council Services Secretariat, Mrs. Omolola Olanipekun, Chairmen of the six area councils,  amongst others.

Share This:

Leave a Reply