Osun Governor, Adeleke reacts to Tribunal Verdict, Heads to Appeal Court

Senator Ademola Adeleke, the winner of the Osun gubernatorial election.
Share This:

The Executive Governor of Osun State, Senator Ademola Adeleke has described the judgement of the governorship tribunal as ” a miscarriage of justice”, vowing to challenge the ruling at the Court of Appeal.

Reacting to the verdict of the Tribunal from his country home, Ede, Governor Adeleke faulted the resolution of the over-voting question in favour of Mr Oyetola, calling it ” an unfair interpretation against the will of majority of voters”

Governor Adegboyega Oyetola
Governor Adegboyega Oyetola

While urging his supporters to remain calm, Governor Adeleke vowed to appeal the judgement at the Court of Appeal, insisting he remains the rightful winner of the July 16 election.

“I call on our people to remain calm. We will appeal the judgement and we are sure justice will be done. Let our people be reassured that we will do everything possible to retain this widely acclaimed mandate”, Governor Adeleke declared.

Global Times Nigeria had reported that the Osun State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Osogbo has declared Governor Adegboyega Oyetola as the winner of the July 16, 2022 governorship election.

The judgment was delivered today at the premises of the High Court in Osogbo.

Reading the majority judgement, Chairman of the tribunal, Justice Tertsea Kume said the election was marred by over-voting. He thereby deducted the number of over-voting presented by Oyetola and APC.

READ:  Nigeria: Stakeholders frowns non-implementation of the Climate Change Act after 8 months it was signed by Buhari

He says having deducted the over-voting figure, Oyetola scored 314,921 while Ademola gathered 290,266.

Adeleke and Oyetola
Adeleke and Oyetola

According to the tribunal the ground of the petition before it are three. They are that Adeleke was not qualified to contest based on his academic qualifications.

Others are the Adeleke was not elected by majority of the electorates and that the election conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission was not in compliance with the provisions of the Electoral Act.

Justice Kume said the petitioners were challenging results of election in ten local government areas, which are Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore, Ejigbo, Ila, Ilesa west, Irepodun, Obokun, Olorunda and Osogbo.

Share This:

Leave a Reply