10th NASS: Gov Bello, congratulates Senate President, Akpabio, Speaker Abbas.

Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello and Speaker of HoRs, Tajudeen Abbass
Share This:

10th NASS: Gov Bello, congratulates Senate President, Akpabio, Speaker Abbas.


Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, has congratulated Senator Godswill Akpabio and Rt. Honourable Tajudeen Abbas over their elections as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives respectively.

10th National Assembly and also Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas is the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

In a statement signed by Onogwu Muhammed, the
Chief Press Secretary, said Governor Yahaya Bello commended the flawless and peaceful conduct of the election.

Governor Bello who disclosed his firm believe in Senator Akpabio’s extensive experience as a former Governor of Akwa Ibom State and Minister of the Niger Delta, stated that he will effectively lead the 10th Senate, especially with his harmonious relationship with the other arms of government for the greater good of the nation.

READ:  Nasarawa Governor backs Traditional Tittle of IYAIHIDEN ANDOK ASHE, of Koro Community by Ohereashe Kube Chiefdom

Governor Bello also described Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas as a promising and energetic young man with the capacity to hold the position of the Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives.

Senate President, Godswill Akpabio
Senate President, Godswill Akpabio

He equally acknowledges and appreciates Rt. Hon. Abbas’performance in the parliament has equipped him with the necessary knowledge and understanding to fulfill his responsibilities harmoniously, always keeping the national interest at the forefront.

The Governor firmly believes that Senator Akpabio and Rt. Hon. Abbas, in their respective leadership qualities, will work closely with their colleagues and other arms of government to ensure effective governance, drive meaningful legislative reforms, and contribute to the progress and development of the nation.

READ:  2023: Delta socioeconomic development, priority under Oborevwori - Oghenesivbe

He also extends his congratulatory messages to Senator Barau Jibrin and Rt. Hon. Benjamin Kalu on their well-deserved election as Deputy Senate President of and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively.

The governor expressed his optimism that there will be remarkable achievements, uncommon progress, and positive impact on the lives of Nigerians.

During the Tuesday Senate inauguration and subsequent election, Godswill Akpabio won as the President of the Senate with 63 votes, defeating Senator Abdulaziz Yari, who got 46 votes.

Rt. Honourable Tajudeen Abbas, Speaker of the House of Representatives
Rt. Honourable Tajudeen Abbas, Speaker of the House of Representatives

At the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas emerged as the Speaker with 353 votes, beating his rivals, Rt. Hon. Idris Wase and Aminu Jaji who got 3 votes each.

READ:  Gwagwalada council chair assures PCC commissioner of working in synergy

While wishing all elected officials success in their new positions, assures them of his unwavering support and cooperation in their efforts to enhance the welfare and prosperity of the country and its citizens

Share This:

Leave a Reply