Just in: NBS, Smah George emerges Chairman, as Nasarawa Sports Writers gets new leadership

Smah George of the State's Broadcast outfit, Nasarawa Broadcasting Service, NBS

Just in: NBS, Smah George emerges Chairman, as Nasarawa Sports Writers gets new leadership

By Eche Amos, Lafia

Members of the Sports Writers’ Association of Nigeria, SWAN, Nasarawa State Chapter, have elected a new leadership to pilot the affairs of the Association for the next three years.

During a bye-election held at the Conference Hall of the Nigerian Union of Journalists, NUJ, Press Centre in Lafia, the State Capital, on Tuesday, 9th July, 2024, former Secretary of the Association, Mr. Smah George of the State’s Broadcast outfit, Nasarawa Broadcasting Service, NBS, emerged as Chairman through a landslide victory after garnering a total of Eighteen(18) out of Twenty-Seven votes cast, with Nigeria Television Authority’s Solomon Abari, coming behind with Nine(9) votes.

Both Chairmanship candidates had tied on Thirteen(13) votes each in the main election held on 6th June, 2024, in Lafia, with the Sun Newspaper’s Leonard Abel winning the Secretary’s position after amassing Nineteen(19) votes against Option FM’s Michael Umudjon who scored Seven(7) votes.

Daily Trust’s Umar Muhammed clinched the Vice Chairmanship position unopposed, just as Esther Akaa of the Voice Newspaper, and Nehemiah Gwamna of Precious FM(Radio Nigeria) emerged unopposed for the Treasurer and Financial Secretary’s positions, respectively.

Chairman of the Electoral Committee (SWANECO), Comrade Isaac Ukpoju of the News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, issued Certificate of Return to the winners.

National Secretary-General of SWAN, Comrade Ikenna Okonkwo, who supervised the election, administered Oath of Office to the newly elected officials, congratulating them on their victory while urging them to understand the significance of the task before them by upholding the responsibilities and duties associated with the offices they are occupying.

The elected Chairman, Smah George, thanked members of the Association for finding him and other elected officials worthy to pilot the affairs of the Association.

He commended the Electoral Committee for conducting a free, fair, credible and transparent election, even as he extended his appreciation to the national leadership of SWAN headed by Comrade Benjamin Isaiah, for ensuring a rancour-free process.

While commending his predecessor, Isah Mohammed, for doing his best for the Association, Smah promised to operate an all-inclusive administration to engender positive transformation, strengthen ties, support the growth and development of sporting activities and stakeholders in Nasarawa State and foster the spirit of conviviality among members of the Association in order to be at par with their sister chapters in other States of the Federation.

He disclosed that there were neither winners nor losers in the election, noting that “we are all winners, and we are ready to carry everyone along to achieve our common goals.”

Certificates of Recognition were presented to the three members of the Electoral Committee, which also had Ibrahim Danjuma(Radio Nigeria) and Amina Mohammed(Voice of Nigeria), by the new Chairman of the Association.